### **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

Tuesday 17 May 2011

## Present:-

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Councillor Choules) The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Sheldon) Councillors M A Baldwin, Bialyk, Branston, P J Brock, S Brock, Bull, Clark, Cole, Crow, Dawson, Denham, Edwards, Fullam, A Hannaford, R M Hannaford, Henson D.J, Mrs Henson, Hobden, Macdonald, Martin, Mitchell, Morris, Mrs J Morrish, Mottram, Newby, Newcombe, Payne, Prowse, Robson, Ruffle, Shiel (for Minutes 24-26), Spackman, Sutton. Taghdissian, Thompson, Tippins, Wardle and Winterbottom

#### 24 **ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR**

**RESOLVED** on the nomination of Councillor Ruffle, seconded by Councillor Taghdissian, that Councillor Stella Brock be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

#### 25 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

**RESOLVED** on the nomination of Councillor Cole, seconded by Councillor Robson, that Councillor Mitchell be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

#### 26 **VOTE OF THANKS**

**RESOLVED** that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Choules and Mrs Choules have discharged the duties of Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during the past year.

Councillor Branston presented, on behalf of the Council, the retiring Lord Mayor's and retiring Lady Mayoress' badges.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

**RESOLVED** that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Sheldon and Mr B Sheldon have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Escort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

# 27 APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Edwards was nominated as Leader of the Council. No further nominations were received.

**RESOLVED** that Councillor Edwards be appointed Leader of the Council.

Councillor Edwards confirmed the appointment of Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

## 28 APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

**RESOLVED** that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor	Portfolio or Group
Edwards P.W	Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision
Martin I.J	Business Transformation and Human Resources*
Hannaford, R.M	Housing and Community Involvement
Sheldon G.N	Environment and Leisure
Sutton R.H	Sustainable Development and Transport
Denham R.C .	Economy and Tourism
Henson Mrs Y.A.C	Conservative
Fullam A.A	Liberal Democrat
Morrish Mrs J	Liberal

<sup>\*</sup> In order to ensure the most effective co-ordination of budgeting and staffing issues in the preparation and delivery of the Council's policy to restructure the Council, it is proposed that the HR function will be assumed by the Leader for this Municipal Year, with advice from the Portfolio Holder.

# 29 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

Alternative options were submitted by the Labour Group and the Liberal Democrat and Conservative Groups in respect of the membership and Chairs and Deputy Chairs of certain Committees. A vote was taken on the nominations.

**RESOLVED** that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be agreed.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 8.25 pm)

Chair